top of page
lead red.png

News

LEAD Hockey's Social Media and Blog Website

Search
  • Writer's pictureLead Hockey

Coach Nolan is "Finding His Way" as a College Student

Updated: Apr 9, 2019

As a coach of three years at LEAD Hockey, Nolan has been able to see LEAD Hockey grow into the camp that it is today. Nolan is a fun coach, who likes to compete with the kids on the ice while being a positive role model off the ice. Nolan started playing hockey with the Southwest Eagles, then worked his way up to play varsity hockey for Verona Area High School. After his high school career, Nolan set out to play a few years in the NA3HL for the Cincinnati Swords and Wisconsin Whalers. Nolan is now attending Edgewood College with plans to graduate with a communications degree. Read about how LEAD Hockey as helped Nolan while he is finding his way through college!




What kind of skills/life lessons has LEAD Hockey taught you that has helped you on the Ice?

"Hockey has taught me that hard work always will pay off in the end. No matter what type of work you’re doing, if you are consistent and persistent with it, you will eventually start to see the results that you want. That's one of the most encouraging things that I have learned through LEAD Hockey, it helped me understand what attitude I had to have with every task at hand to accomplish my goals."



What kind of skills/ life lessons have you learned from LEAD Hockey that you use today off the ice ?

"I have learned from LEAD Hockey that having good skills is only half of what makes good players great. How they conduct themselves off the ice plays a big part of how their game is translated on the ice. With that being said, I try to really focus on myself as a person both inside and outside of the rink. I believe that being kind to others, being honest, and having a strong work ethic can really take you to the places that you want to be in life. LEAD Hockey has taught me that how you are as a person and a teammate, is more important that how you are as a player."

What do you do daily to be a leader both on and off the ice?

"I like to make sure that everything that needs to be done, gets done before anything else happens. Meaning, I like to take care of the most important things in my life first, so I am able to be a good role model to others while I am coaching. I want to be able to have fun, and coach the kids to the best of my abilities. But in order for me to do that, I like to have everything sorted out with my schooling and work life, so that when I come to the rink, I am able to show up energized with a smile for the kids."

What are your future aspirations/goals ?


"I want to graduate college, and experience living in a different state. I am currently a communications major, but hope to one day be a life coach for college students or work at a university as a person who can be a resource for students who need help with anything that is going on in their life! I want to take the experiences that I have learned from my college experience to help others"

How do you plan on using the skills learned in LEAD Hockey, to achieve those goals?

"I plan on working hard in the classroom to get good grades and to graduate early. I also plan on continuing to coach and find more opportunities to be a good role model. I want to be able to learn more about being a life coach and helping anyone in need."



Thank you for sharing Coach Nolan!! We are so proud of you and your dedication to our campers, we know that wherever life takes you, you will be successful!


- LEAD


35 views0 comments

Blog and News Articles 

bottom of page