top of page
lead red.png

News

LEAD Hockey's Social Media and Blog Website

Search
  • Writer's pictureLead Hockey

Coach Channell "Leads Her Way" into the CWHL



Mellissa Channell grew up playing hockey in Michigan for Little Caesar’s and found her way into coaching at Lead Hockey after her outstanding collegiate hockey career at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Channell also spent some time with Team Canada during her collegiate career and now is currently playing professionally for the Toronto Furies in the CWHL. Channell had a huge positive impact on Lead Hockey in the summer of 2017, when she was a LEAD coach and social media manager. Since the summer of 2017, Channell has set out to develop her own career aspirations in Toronto. Check out her story of how Lead Hockey has helped her, and how she plans to “Lead The Way” in Canada!

What kind of skills or life lessons has LEAD Hockey taught you that has helped you on the ice?

“Coaching at Lead taught me many life lessons and skills on the ice. The main one was, to make sure that you and the kids are having fun. That is one of Coach Josh’s main goals throughout these camps, is to make sure everyone is having fun. I take that energy from him that he brought everyday, and try to make sure I do that in my own game now. Another thing I learned is, different coaching techniques and being able to work well with others. I currently help coach many different teams with many different coaches. Lead taught me how to work with different coaching styles, while having to come up with a game plan, and then execute that well in the ice. The last thing I learned, was how to accommodate for kids at different levels. Having a wide variety of ages and skill levels in each group, had everyone thinking on their toes, to

Mellissa coaching the young ones in LEAD Summer 2017!

make sure they are able to change a drill to help benefit the kids when needed.”


What kind of skills or life lessons have you learned from LEAD Hockey that you use today off the ice?

“Very similar to on the ice, the main lesson learned is having fun and being a positive influence on kids everywhere. As coaches we don’t always realize how much of an impact we have on our players. But then it hits home at the end of each session, when they come up and thank you, and tell you how much they will miss you when camp is over. We always have to treat these kids as if they are our own, and make sure they know we are there for them.”

What do you do daily to be a leader both on and off the ice?

“I always just try to have a positive attitude, day in and day out. I know some days are harder than others, but being able to have fun while at hockey can completely change your mood around. I also make sure I am always holding myself accountable.”

What are your future aspirations/goals?

I want to learn more each and everyday to better myself and to prepare for a possible future in coaching at the NCAA level. Away from hockey, I would love to compete at a high level of CrossFit.


Channell has been motivated to excel at crossfit, she pushes herself outside her comfort zone everyday!

How do you plan on using the skills learned in lead hockey, to achieve those goals?

“Holding myself accountable is a big one. I have to make sure I am doing everything I can do in order to reach my goals. Making sure I am doing what needs to be done day in and day out.”



Keep leading the way Channell! we are proud of you!

111 views0 comments

Blog and News Articles 

bottom of page